Dear Evan Hansen (film)


Dear Evan Hansen is a 2021 American musical coming-of-age film directed by Stephen Chbosky from a screenplay by Steven Levenson. It is based on the stage musical of the same name by Levenson, Benj Pasek, and Justin Paul. Ben Platt plays the title role, reprising the performance that he originated on stage five years earlier. The ensemble cast also includes Kaitlyn Dever, Amandla Stenberg, Nik Dodani, Colton Ryan, Danny Pino, Julianne Moore, and Amy Adams.

The film premiered at the 2021 Toronto International Film Festival on September 9, 2021, as the opening night presentation and was theatrically released in the United States on September 24, 2021, by Universal Pictures. The film underperformed at the box office and received largely negative reviews from critics, who compared it unfavorably to the stage musical. Platt's performance was poorly received by critics and audiences alike, the latter of whom mocked his performance on social media with many claiming he was miscast in the role and others accusing his casting as a sign of nepotism. At the 42nd Golden Raspberry Awards, the film was nominated for Worst Director for Chbosky, Worst Actor for Platt, Worst Supporting Actress for Adams, and Worst Screen Combo for Platt and "any other character who acts like [him] singing 24-7 is normal".

Post a Comment